Stockholm Monsters, Shiny Two Shiny Re-Issues Out December 2nd on Captured Tracks

Captured Tracks has announced Stockholm Monsters and Shiny Two Shiny re-issues, due out December 2nd. Their very special vinyl-only Stockholm Monsters release presents the Factory artist’s entire catalogue: 22 tracks taken from a series of 7″s and their sole LP, Alma Mater. The Shiny Two Shiny release features tracks pulled from Halfway Across the Rainbow LP and the single “Waiting For Us”/”Ritual Hate.”

Captured Tracks will present the Stockholm Monsters full catalogue on this special vinyl-only reissue. Formed in Manchester in 1980, Stockholm Monsters were signed with Factory Records in 1981. Discovered at a show in Manchester when the band was still teens, New Order’s Peter Hook took the young band under his wing and went on to produce the majority of the band’s catalogue under the alias Be Music. Their first single, “Fairy Tales,” didn’t appear until 1982, due to the tardiness of producer Martin Hannett. Drawing early praise from influential music magazines like NME and Melody Maker, along with touring with New Order, the band seemed set for success. However, through numerous line-up changes, delays in recording and the onslaught of bands such as the Happy Mondays, the band never quite hit their mark.

During their time with the Factory Records, Stockholm Monsters released one LP (Alma Mater) and a series of 7”s and singles including a scathing take down of Fac- tory’s primary indie label rival, entitled “How Corrupt is Rough Trade”. Available in a limited run, this complete collection gives new light to one of Factory’s lost artists.

A1. Terror
A2. Where I Belong Decalogue
A3. Winter
A4. Five O’Clock
A5. All At Once

B1. Life’s Two Faces
B2. Your Uniform
B3. E.W.
B4. To Look At Her
B5. Something’s Got To Give
B6. National Pastime

C1. Happy Ever After
C2. Soft Babies
C3. Miss Moonlight
C4. The Longing Lafayette
C5. Militia

D1. Partyline
D2. How Corrupt Is RT?
D3. Kan Kill!
D4. Dumbstruck

A1. Fairy Tales
B1. Death is Slowly Coming

Gayna Florence Perry and Robin Surtees are perhaps best known for their work with cult 80s band Shiny Two Shiny. Signed to Red Flame Records, they released one mini LP entitled ‘Halfway Across The Rainbow’ and one single ‘Waiting For us’ b/w ‘Ritual Hate,’ in 7” and 12” formats.

A mixture of bright and breezy synth pop with some darker undercurrents, both records made a dent in the indie charts. The band garnered positive reviews in the music press for their releases and live appearances as well as acclaim from John Peel and daytime airplay on Radio 1. They also toured Europe and appeared on TV. At the start of 1984, the band played at the ‘Big Brother’ music festival at the ICA in London, supporting Pink Industry. But, by this time the writing was on the wall for Shiny Two Shiny.

Waiting For Us
Through The Glass
Moment To Moment
Ritual Hate
Waiting For Us (12” single mix)
Seven Four (live in Brussels)
Boy from Ipanema
Waiting For Us 7”


In a previous life, Corinne ran a music website. After going strong for a decade, the site went on a hiatus. Consider her the antiTastemaker.