SRCvinyl to Re-Release Silverchair’s “Neon Ballroom” on Vinyl

SRCvinyl has announced the vinyl reissue of Silverchair’s third studio album, “Neon Ballroom.” The album was mastered for vinyl and lacquers created by Stan Ricker and plated at RTI. The album is being pressed on 180 gram limited edition colored and black vinyl. Pre-orders are live now. The album will be re-released on January 6, 2015. It will be available as 180 Gram Black (LTD 500), 180 Gram Trans Pink (LTD 500), and 180 Gram Trans Blue (LTD 1,500).

Neon Ballroom was an overhaul of the band’s musical style found on its first two albums, Frogstomp and Freak Show. “Anthem for the Year 2000,” for example, retained much of the band’s youthful rock energy but featured a new rock song structure and various electronic effects. Eight years after the album’s release, Silverchair frontman Daniel Johns said: “To me, I honestly feel like our first record was Neon Ballroom. I’ve never felt any different. I don’t feel like our first two albums were Silverchair: that’s our teenage high school band. I don’t like them at all. I listen to them and go, ‘That’s cute’, especially the first one, because Frogstomp we were 14. But the second one we’re like 16, I’m like ‘You’re getting older. You’re running out of chances.'”

Track Listing:

A1 Emotion Sickness
A2 Anthem For The Year 2000
A3 Ana’s Song (Open Fire)

B1 Spawn Again
B2 Miss You Love
B3 Dearest Helpless
B4 Do You Feel The Same

C1 Black Tangled Heart
C2 Point Of View
C3 Satin Sheets
C4 Paint Pastel Princess

D1 Steam Will Rise
D2 Anthem For The Year 2000 [Choir Version]
D3 Spawn Again (pre-vitro version)


In a previous life, Corinne ran a music website. After going strong for a decade, the site went on a hiatus. Consider her the antiTastemaker.