Black Clouds Premiere New J. Robbins-Produced Album “Dreamcation”

Collect Records, the independent label founded by Geoff Rickly (Thursday/No Devotion/United Nations), and Washington DC’s Black Clouds have announced the full stream of the band’s brand new full-length album titled Dreamcation. Premiering over at Alternative Press prior to its release on Tuesday, November 4, Dreamcation – produced by the acclaimed J. Robbins and mixed & mastered by Chris Common (Isis, Mars Volta, Pelican) – is the cinematic follow-up to the post-rock and metal experimentalists’ debut showcase, Everything Is Not Going To Be OK.

Having recently completed a U.S. tour with United Nations and Frameworks, Black Clouds will be performing a hometown record release show at the Black Cat in Washington DC on Friday, November 21. Preorder for Dreamcation and information on tickets for the upcoming show can be found on Collect Records’ official homepage.

The final minutes of Black Clouds’ debut album did not have a happy ending: In a spoken word coda, Clutch’s Neil Fallon repeatedly informs the listener that “everything is not going to be OK,” and despite the fact this had already been well communicated by the album itself, this was the first time that language had been used to articulate its quasi-nihilism. For this Washington, DC-based trio, it was a rare but vivid show-me-and-tell-me moment.

Which is to say that Dreamcation, Black Clouds’ sophomore effort and Collect Records debut, is a significantly different kind of record. That sense of doom, once mined for its power, is more effectively harnessed for a nuanced energy – the darkness curbed just enough to let the light in – and the result is alternately aggressive and ambient, often in the same song, and sometimes in the same part: “Carcosa,” for one, takes equal cues from funeral and ascension, and “Some Of Us Are Meant To Disappear” somehow pummels you into a warm hug. A smart and measured progression, Black Clouds finds itself at their most introspective on Dreamcation, and if this album’s finalé eschews language altogether for a wash of subtle chords and a blissfully ecstatic drone, it’s only because-perhaps-everything is going to be OK after all.

21 – Washington DC – Black Cat (Dreamcation Record Release Show)

Dreamcation track-listing
01. We Begged For The Floods
02. Don’t Look For Me
03. Carcosa
04. And Then I Dove
05. Accept The Mystery
06. Some Of Us Are Meant To Disappear
07. Mt. Rainier
08. Low Places
09. Everyone’s Waiting
10. Perennial

Photo by Chris Bavaria


In a previous life, Corinne ran a music website. After going strong for a decade, the site went on a hiatus. Consider her the antiTastemaker.