Los Straitjackets Team Up with Deke Dickerson on New Album of Popular Instrumental Hits Featuring Lost Lyrics

Los Straitjackets are gearing up to release their latest effort Los Straitjackets: Deke Dickerson Sings The Instrumental Hits on October 7th, 2014 via Yep Roc Records. The world’s number one instrumental combo team has teamed up with roots-music legend Deke Dickerson to record an album of famous instrumental songs with their lost lyrics. They unveiled the first track from the album exclusively on Guitar World called “You Can Count On Me.” Most will recognize the hit as the theme song from Hawaii Five-O recorded by The Ventues. The lyrics originate from Sammy Davis Jr.’s version of the same name.

“America’s #1 Instrumental combo (Los Straitjackets) and I decided that 6 knuckleheads were better than one and that joining forces for an album’s worth of vocal instrumentals was yet another mountain that needed be to climbed,” says Deke Dickerson. “The results you now hold in your hands. It is the first album of its kind, and it is required to be in your collection.”

When it comes to delivering high-energy rock and roll instrumental music, no one equals the finesse, power and perseverance of Grammy-nominated Los Straitjackets. It’s been 20 years since the Nashville-bred band first dressed in their easily recognizable attire of Lucha Libre masks. Since then the group has toured around the world, released 11 studio albums, finding to time to record and tour with El Vez, Dave Alvin, The Reverend Horton Heat, Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, and Big Sandy– to name just a few.

Deke Dickerson has kept the flame alive for real rock & roll, since he was the frontman for Missouri’s legendary Untamed Youth. Since then every project (including his The Dave and Deke Combo, The Go Nuts, Blind Rage and Violence) Deke pursues has brought his unparalleled musicianship and flair for entertainment to the forefront. He has collaborated with many of his heroes including Duane Eddy, Larry Collins of The Collins Kids, Randy Fuller (of the Bobby Fuller Four) and The Trashmen. His work as bandleader at the Ponderosa Stomp and ringmaster of the Guitar Geek festivals, and as an author have helped keep the spotlight shown on the first generations of rock & rollers.

Track Listing:
1. Fury
2. Honky Tonk
3. Magic Star
4. Theme From A Summer Place
5. Perfidia
6. Apache
7. Misirlou
8. Kawanga
9. Wild Weekend
10. You Can Count On Me
11. Walk Don’t Run
12. Popcorn
13. Sleepwalk
14. Pipeline

Tour Dates:
10/15 – Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads
10/16 – Columbia, MO @ Mojo’s
10/17 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
10/18 – Berywyn, IL @ FitzGerald’s
10/19 – Rapids, MI @ Tip Top Grand
10/21 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Bag
10/22 – Cincinatti, OH @ Southgate House Revival
10/23 – Columbus, OH @ Woodlands Tavern
10/24 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
10/25 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
10/26 – Buffalo, NY @ Sportsmen’s Tavern
10/28 – New Haven, CT @ Cafe 9
10/30 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
10/31 – Brooklyn, NY @ Bell House
11/01 – Washington, DC @ Gypsy Sally’s
11/02 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live


In a previous life, Corinne ran a music website. After going strong for a decade, the site went on a hiatus. Consider her the antiTastemaker.