Sweet Apple Reveals Artwork for New Album “The Golden Age of Glitter”

Sweet Apple, the band of rockers from groups you’ve heard before is back! The Golden Age of Glitter, a 10-song power-pop masterpiece featuring J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr., Heavy Blanket), Tim Parnin (Cobra Verde, Chuck Mosley), John Petkovic (Cobra Verde, Death of Samantha, Guided By Voices) and Dave Sweetapple (Witch, Vardlokk) will be released on April 8 via Tee Pee Records. The LP is the follow up to the band’s critically celebrated debut Love & Desperation, a record that showcased “70s arena rock-like songs” (Pitchfork) and presented “one stomp box in the power pop of their youth, one in the heavy indie thud they invented” (SPIN). The Golden Age of Glitter features guest appearances from Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees, Queens Of The Stone Age), Robert Pollard (Guided By Voices) and others.

The Golden Age Of Glitter was recorded from California to Massachusetts, with Cleveland in the middle. Featuring 10 songs of Sweet Apple’s irresistibly infectious rock, The Golden Age of Glitter travels a wide swathe of musical styles — almost as wide as the geography represented by the band — and revolves around a running narrative where the band becomes the theme (the group’s members are spread out across the country). Lyrically, the songs focus on “travel and distance”, longing for a new, different place and then tackling the reality of getting there. It’s all illustrated by the album artwork — which features a swimming pool and airplane motif!

“A band located in Vermont, Massachusetts, Ohio and sometimes California requires a bit of planning and accounting for delays,” says vocalist Petkovic. “Initially, we we going to call the LP “Arrivals and Departures.” (“Connecting Flights and Lost Luggage” didn’t quite have the ring.) Then I figured, why not just embrace that chaotic gap between the destination and getting there. With Sweet Apple, every show, every practice, every field trip to Dunkin’ Donuts is like a re-union. It’s always about re-capturing some place you only temporarily inhabited and vaguely remembered.”

“The Golden Age of Glitter” made sense as a title, because it’s a place that doesn’t exist — and, even as an idea, is an absurdity, Petkovic continues. “Yet, if you accept that — and the chasing of these absurd destinations — you find that it’s more of an adventure than if you know where you’re going. We all long for foreign, faraway places. It’s like floating weightless, in the sun, in some swimming pool. That is, until you’ve discovered that you’ve driven your car to the bottom of that pool.”

Interestingly, The Golden Age of Glitter will spawn six (YES, SIX) music videos of varying storylines. The first — for “Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer)” — features the band dispersed around the country and connected by paper airplanes. The six videos will include — in some form or fashion — the band, Mark Lanegen, legendary bassist and songwriter Mike Watt, paper airplanes, the Rose Bowl, NYC, Halloween trick-or-treaters and more. You’ll have to wait until the next press release to find out more…

Sweet Apple's The Golden Age of Glitter

Track listing:
1.) Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer) * duet with Mark Lanegan
2.) Reunion * duet with Robert Pollard
3.) Boys in Her Fan Club
4.) Let’s Take the Same Plane * features Mark Lanegan and Rachel Haden on vocals
5.) Another Desert Skyline
6.) I Surrender
7.) Troubled Sleep
8.) We Are Ruins
9.) You Made a Fool Out of Me
10). Under the Liquor Sign * duet with Robert Pollard

Sweet Apple is:
J. Mascis – Also plays guitar in Dinosaur Jr. and drums in Witch. Played with Cobra Verde for a spell. Favorite color is purple. Owns hundreds of guitar pedals and dozens of Adidas. First job was a Japanese restaurant. Has made pilgrimages to India. Enjoys kale chips and Dunkin’ Donuts Munchkins.

Tim Parnin – Also plays guitar in Cobra Verde and with former Faith No More singer Chuck Mosely. Has also played on a ping-pong team with NBA All Star Kyrie Irving. Gave up day job as a computer guy to open a guitar and pedal shop called Guitar Riot. Former juggling instructor.

John Petkovic – Also plays in Cobra Verde and Death of Samantha. Currently working on a movie in which he walks around L.A. in a space suit. Played in Guided by Voices for a while and on a J Mascis and Fog album. Owns dozens of Adidas. Former aid to the Crown Prince of Yugoslavia. According to Dave Sweetapple, John only eats canned food (Dinty Moore).

Dave Sweetapple – Also plays bass in Witch and Dusty Skull. Native of Newfoundland, Canada (where they beat baby seals). Grew hair long after seeing a photo of the Alice Cooper Band. His rare mushroom collection is as impressive as his vinyl collection. Aspiring ventriloquist!

Photo by Andrew Kesin


In a previous life, Corinne ran a music website. After going strong for a decade, the site went on a hiatus. Consider her the antiTastemaker.