Omotai Unleash New Song “Throats of Snakes”

Houston, TX extreme music collective Omotai will release its sophomore LP Fresh Hell on February 18 via The Treaty Oak Collective / The Path Less Traveled. Fresh Hell features seven frenetic explosions of sound, a deft blend of grindcore, sludge and progressive noise-rock and is the follow up to the band’s punishing 2012 full length Terrestrial Grief, which was hailed as “a hard-hitting throat-punch of assaultive noise” and an “interstellar masterpiece” by the Houston Press. In advance of the record’s release, Decibel premieres the new Omotai song “Throats of Snakes,” saying “If you don’t think Kylesa are shouty enough anymore, and need some more space rock effects, then this band is for you.”

Omotai is a rarity in the world of the heavy – a curious stylistic alloy, a band wielding the doom metal truncheon with a math rock deliberation. The apoplexy of each gnashing riff –conveyed live via a massive wall of amplification — is enough to bring the surrounding atmosphere to a target resonance, the audience appropriated as a biological component of the sonic transmission. Formed in 2009 by Sam Waters (guitar, vocals) and Anthony Vallejo (drums, vocals), Omotai soon recruited Melissa Lonchambon Ryan (bass guitar, vocals) and hit the studio immediately to record their debut EP Peace Through Fear, taking cues from 80’s thrash, 90’s noise rock, grindcore and sludge. The band’s debut full length, Terrestrial Grief, distilled Peace’s strongest points while upping both the math and whiplash quotients by several orders of magnitude and just last year, the group became a four-piece, adding guitarist/vocalist Jamie Ross. Omotai’s thundering, circling sound has drawn comparison to Neurosis, Mastodon and Kylesa and the band’s mesmerizing live performances have seen it share stages with Yob, Pallbearer, Eyehategod, Dark Castle, Inter Arma, Baroness and more.

Omotai’s Fresh Hell is available for pre-order. The LP’s first pressing is available in black, clear orange (with black haze) and white vinyl and includes an immediate high-quality download of the album.

Fresh Hell track listing:

  1. Get Your Dead Straight
  2. Back Office
  3. Giant Pygmy
  4. Leglifter
  5. Throats of Snakes
  6. Laser Addict
  7. We Don’t Have to be Strangers

Omotai’s Fresh Hell album release show is set for Friday, February 21 at Fitzgerald’s in Houston (w/ Lions of Tsavo, Baring Teeth, Turbokrieg). Additional, just-announced live dates are as follows:

February 21 Houston, TX Fitzgerald’s (“Fresh Hell” album release show)
March 13 Austin, TX The Legendary White Swan (unofficial SXSW gig)


In a previous life, Corinne ran a music website. After going strong for a decade, the site went on a hiatus. Consider her the antiTastemaker.